skip navigation

Open Skating

Open Skating Information

Family open skating is available to the general public on specific Saturdays and Sundays from 12:30 to 2:30pm.  The schedule for the season will be posted on this page and in the lobby at the Four Seasons Sports Complex.  Open skating is free and the ice time is sponsored by the city of Carlton. 

Starting in the 2017/18 season, the outdoor rink at the Four Seasons will not be flooded.  The recent unpredictable winters have made flooding and maintaining the outdoor rink too time intensive for our small volunteer organization.  Instead, additional ice time has been added indoors on those Saturdays posted here. 

  • The concessions stand will typically be open during family open skating times.
  • New for 2018/19 is the option to rent skates, $2 per pair.  Available first come first serve.
  • Push bars and chairs are available as skating aids to those learning to skate.
  • Skate sharpening is available upon request.

Open Skating Rules

  • Absolutely no hockey sticks or pucks are allowed during open skating
  • Those using push bars and chairs in an unsafe manner will be removed from the ice
  • It is recommended that children under 12 are accompanied by an adult
  • It is the discretion of the staff on hand for removal of skaters that are fighting and creating safety issues for themselves and others on the ice

2018/2019 Open Skating Schedule

Date Time Date Time
Saturday 11/3/18 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 11/4/18 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 11/10/18 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 11/11/18 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 11/17/18 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 11/18/18 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 11/24/18 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 11/25/18 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 12/15/18 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 12/16/18 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 12/22/18 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 12/23/18 No Skating
Wednesday 12/26/18 1:15-3:30pm
Thursday 12/27/18 1:15-4:15pm
Friday 12/28/18 1:15-4:15pm
Saturday 12/29/18 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 12/30/18 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 1/5/19 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 1/6/19 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 1/12/19 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 1/13/19 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 1/19/19 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 1/20/19 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 1/26/19 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 1/27/19 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 2/2/19 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 2/3/19 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 2/9/19 12:30-2:30pm Sunday 2/10/19 12:30-2:30pm
Saturday 2/16/19 No Skating Sunday 2/17/19 No Skating
Saturday 2/23/19 No Skating Sunday 2/24/19 12:30-2:30pm